Articles

Will Facebook Fix My Timeline Issue(s) Ever?

     Today I would like to say a little about Facebook and customer service in general. For over 20 hours now my Facebook timeline has not worked correctly: The Timeline will not load anything except the cover photo. In the bar at the top right side of the page that lists months and years, May does not show. If I click on April for example, everything then loads EXCEPT all my May entries (which DO show up under “Activity”).

     Now I do appreciate that Mr. Zuckerberg and friends are busy preparing for their multi-billion dollar IPO tomorrow, and I am just one Facebook user out of a purported 900,000,000, however …

     There used to be something in this country (and American society in general) known as “customer service”. As a culture, we prided ourselves on it. In the last 15 years, all that has gone by the wayside. Now when we need service for a faulty product, we must navigate through a push button menu when we call in and pray that we actually get to speak to a human being. If we are fortunate enough to reach one, nine times out of ten they are in a foreign country and I can not understand half of what they are saying to me. Cheaper, non-union labor don’t ya know. I feel like a number. And if I say I am not happy and will take my patronage elsewhere, generally I am told “Well I am sorry you feel that way sir, is there anything else I can do for you today? No? Thanks for calling XYZ Company and have a nice day.” The company does not care if you take your business elsewhere; they really don’t.

     The only notable exception to this deficit is Apple. As 99 of 100 Apple users will tell you, Apple’s customer service is awesome! Accordingly, Apple is rated as number one in customer service, period. You can call in, write in, engage in “Live Chat” that actually works, or even hit a link that says “Call Me Now” and they usually call within 90 seconds (seriously – no lie!). When you engage with the human being you reach, they are in the USA and speak English (not “The Queen’s English”). Believe it or not, Apple’s customer service representatives actually provide customer service and help you resolve issues. Imagine that?

     I realize that I am only one user out of 900,000,000, but as a user of Facebook, I SHOULD matter. One person DOES matter. The Arab Spring was launched on and facilitated with Facebook. The resistance movement in Syria uses Facebook. Think about how much faster the Civil Rights movement might have progressed if there had been Facebook in the early 1960’s. Facebook actually DOES matter – it is NOT just a place to post pictures of Fido, your baby’s first steps or your last drunken weekend. As such, one person using Facebook CAN change the world – so that one person should have the ability to use a working Facebook that is FULLY functional. Anything less is substandard and disappointing.

     I have sent four support messages (with screenshots) to Facebook in the last 20+ hours and have had no response as of five minutes ago: No e-mails or messages to my Facebook account. I am about to launch a communications company in the next 60 – 90 days and was hoping to use Facebook as a means to facilitate that launch. The bulk of work that this company will do is to provide people with information on issues that are important to their everyday lives. This current adventure has severely eroded my confidence in Facebook, and I am surprised, frustrated, and disappointed. I am still hopeful that this issue will be corrected … sooner than later.

     I will keep you posted.

2 thoughts on “Will Facebook Fix My Timeline Issue(s) Ever?

  1. I have to say that customer service is one of the most important things in business! You don’t have customers you don’t have a business.

  2. PLEASE FIX MY EACEBOOK SHARE BOTTON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comments are closed.